York Photographic Society

21st February "Pocklington CC Exchange Visit"

This is the website of York Photographic Society, York's longest established photography club and indeed one of Britain's earliest photographic societies. New members are always welcome to this thriving, friendly and energetic camera club.

Taylor Wessing Shortlist announced

The National Portrait Gallery (NPG) has revealed the shortlist for the annual Taylor Wessing Photographic Portrait 2014. The results are to be announced in a ceremony at the NPG on the 11th November 2014, with the winner receiving £12,000. The winner of the John Kobal New Work Award (see below) will also be announced at the same ceremony.

The shortlisted photographers for the Taylor Wessing Prize are Birgit Püve, Jessica Fulford-Dobson, Blerim Racaj and David Titlow. Their photographs will be exhibited along with a curated selection of around 60 other entries (there were over 4,000 entries in total) in an exhibition to be held at the NPG between 13 November and 22 February. 

The competition was judged on an equal and anonymous basis from original prints by:

Sandy Nairne, Director, National Portrait Gallery (Chair) 

Robin Muir, Writer, Curator and Contributing Editor to Vogue 

Philip Prodger, Head of Photographs Collection, National Portrait Gallery 

Bettina von Zwehl, Artist


John Kobal New Work Award

The John Kobal New Work Award will be awarded to a photographer under the age of 30 selected for the Taylor Wessing exhibition. The winning photographer will receive £4,000 and will include a commission from the NPG to photograph a sitter connected with the UK film industry. This Award will be judged by Simon Crocker, Chairman of the John Kobal Foundation.

All photographic content on this site is the property of the content supplier
and is protected by UK and International copyright law.